Find out more about venues Claudelands NZ Facebook Page HLive Twitter Feed HLive Instagram Feed

Van Gerwen Headlines Competitors at NZ Darts Masters


WORLD DARTS CHAMPION Michael van Gerwen will return to New Zealand in August after being confirmed alongside Kiwi ace Cody Harris in the early competitors for the NZ Darts Masters, presented by Burger King and TAB.


Following the World Series of Darts' previous four visits to Auckland, 2019 sees Hamilton's Claudelands Arena host the NZ Darts Masters on August 23-24.


World number one Van Gerwen, the reigning World Champion and 2018 Auckland Darts Masters winner, headlines the first nine players confirmed for the 16-player field.


Former World Champions Rob Cross and Gary Anderson, 2018 Melbourne Darts Masters winner Peter Wright and Players Championship Finals winner Daryl Gurney have also been confirmed for the Hamilton event.


In addition, New Zealand's Harris – who has been based on the professional circuit in Europe since January 2018 – will be joined by the Australian trio of former European Championship winner Simon Whitlock, 2017 Auckland Darts Masters winner Kyle Anderson and 2018 UK Open finalist Corey Cadby in competing in August.


"I've got great memories of coming to New Zealand in recent years and it will be fantastic to play in Hamilton in August," said Van Gerwen.


"The World Series is great for darts and it's fantastic for fans in places like New Zealand to get to see us live each year. I know it's a long time until we are in Hamilton but it's a title I'd love to win."


Further PDC stars for the NZ Darts Masters will be confirmed in due course, alongside qualifiers from the domestic circuits in New Zealand and Australia.


Tickets for the 2019 NZ Darts Masters are available now through


2019 NZ Darts Masters, presented by Burger King and TAB

Claudelands Arena, Hamilton

Friday August 23 (1800 local time)

First Round

VIP Tickets $199.90

Table Tickets $94.90

Tiered Seat Tickets $64.90


Saturday August 24 (1800 local time)

Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals & Final

VIP Tickets $204.90

Table Tickets $99.90

Tiered Seat Tickets $69.90


Tickets are available now via




Confirmed Players

Michael van Gerwen      “Mighty Mike”                  World Champion & world number one

Rob Cross                            “Voltage”                            2018 World Champion

Gary Anderson                  “The Flying Scotsman”   Two-time World Champion

Peter Wright                      “Snakebite”                        2018 Melbourne Darts Masters champion

Daryl Gurney                     “Superchin”                        2018 Players Championship Finals winner

Cody Harris                         “Code Star”                         Three-time World Cup representative

Simon Whitlock                 “The Wizard”                     2012 European Championship winner

Kyle Anderson                   “The Original”                    2017 Auckland Darts Masters champion

Corey Cadby                       “The King”                           2018 UK Open finalist




Further Information

The Professional Darts Corporation promotes a worldwide circuit of darts tournaments which in 2019 will offer £14 million in prize money for players at all levels, notably through its series of high-profile televised events which include the William Hill World Darts Championship and Unibet Premier League.


The PDC also supports affiliated tours in Australia, New Zealand, North America, Asia and the Nordic & Baltic Region and has introduced a second-tier Challenge Tour as well as supporting the Junior Darts Corporation to provide a pathway for players to the PDC’s professional circuit.


The World Series of Darts was introduced in 2013 by the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC), and in 2019 will feature five international tournaments before the season-ending World Series of Darts Finals in the Netherlands.


The World Series of Darts has also previously visited Dubai, Singapore, Shanghai, Tokyo, Yokohama, Sydney, Perth and Auckland, with Cologne and Hamilton hosting international events for the first time this year.


Each international event will feature 16 players, with the World Series of Darts Finals being a 24-player event.


2019 World Series of Darts Events

US Darts Masters

July 4-5

Mandalay Bay Casino & Resort, Las Vegas

German Darts Masters

July 12-13

LANXESS Arena, Cologne

Brisbane Darts Masters

August 9-10

BCEC, Brisbane

Melbourne Darts Masters

August 16-17

The Melbourne Arena

NZ Darts Masters, presented by Burger King & TAB

August 23-24

Claudelands Arena, Hamilton

World Series of Darts Finals

Nov 1-3

AFAS Live, Amsterdam


Ticket information for all events is available at


For further information, please contact